Who We Are

We are a nonprofit committed to providing resources for all students of the Dubuque Community School District.

who we are

The Dubuque Community School District started a Foundation (DCSDF) as a means of developing alternative forms of funding for education in our community. The organization was founded in 1991 under the direction of Dr. Howard Pigg and the Board of Education. In 2013, the name of the Foundation was changed to the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools (FDPS), and they became their own entity with an executive director and board of directors.

In 2013 the FDPS joined forces with the Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque (CFGD) as a partnership entity.

Since 1991 the FDPS has helped fund numerous educational activities, field trips and teacher grants totaling $1.7 million given.

our leader

Chelsea Cox

Executive Director



Chelsea Cox grew up in Dubuque, Iowa, attended Dubuque public schools, worked as an educator and most recently as a school counselor in the Dubuque Community School District for close to 20 years.  Chelsea will not only be coming back into the schools as the new Executive Director, Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools, but she will also be sending her three sons into three different DCSD schools in the fall!  Outside of work, in the spring, summer and fall, you will find her with her husband, watching their boys playing a sport of the season, hiking or kayaking, doing projects around the house, reading in a hammock, laughing around a bonfire with family and friends or traveling to all of the food trucks in the local area.  In the winter you will find her cooking, baking, catching up on movies and TV series, spending time indoors with her 2 cats and 2 dogs, and planning trips to warmer places.  And if she doesn’t answer her phone when you call her on the weekends, it’s because she is at a live music concert, as close to the front row as she can get!

our Board Directors

  • Lauren Czeshinski, President
  • Katie Stork, Vice President/President Elect
  • Mathew Langenberg, Treasurer
  • Zach Hodge, Immediate Past President
  • Mary Bridget Deutsch
  • Tammy Duehr
  • Kevin Eipperle
  • Mimi Holesinger
  • Liza Johnson
  • Dawn McCoy
  • Derek Olberding
  • Whitney Sanger
  • Amy Schauer
  • Josh Weidemann